Your browser does not support JavaScript!
College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Taipei Tech
Home > About Us > History



National Taipei University of Technology (NTUT) is one of the first few colleges having been founded in Taiwan for nearly 100 years. The NTUT’s Electrical Engineering programs, one of the first kind established in Taiwan, was created in 1912.    

Today the College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) is home to four departments, having over 100 faculty members, and more than 2,700 students. About one quarter of all NTUT students are enrolled in this college.

The four academic departments under this college are Departments of Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering, and Computer Science & Information Engineering, and Electro-Optical Engineering. Each of them offers Ph.D. Master of Science (MS), and Bachelor of Science (BS) degrees.

We emphasize quality in teaching and research. All our undergraduate and graduate programs are accredited by the Institute of Engineering Education Taiwan (IEET), recognized by the Washington Accord. These programs provide students knowledge of fundamental principles and innovative technologies through a rigorous curriculum of theories and applications.

The graduate program has more than 170 Ph.D. students and about 700 Master students in total. EECS is a broad and expanding field. We have excelled in both academic and industrial research and development programs. The faculty members are actively developing critical technologies ranging from devices to systems, software to hardware, and from algorithms to implementation.

NTUT is one of the most leading technical universities in Taiwan. In addition, we have established a very strong bilateral and mutually beneficial tic with the industry. A large number of the college alumni have become very successful entrepreneurs in Taiwan information technology and electric-related engineering industry. These honorable alumni are a unique and decisive factor supporting the growth and success of our EECS College.


Department of Electrical Engineering 

The main objective of this department is to equip students with professional knowledge and expertise in electrical engineering and to provide high quality teaching with the aim of cultivating cutting-edge electrical engineers.

There are 5 major research areas within the department: power system engineering, power electronics, control systems, communication systems, and computer systems. Our courses and research place a strong emphasis on practical training, senior projects, and collaboration with the industry.


Department of Electronic Engineering

The department aims at developing knowledge in electronic engineering and cultivating electronic specialists. The graduate program is oriented toward the development of practical technologies to meet the industrial needs in computer and communication engineering.

The department focuses on 4 main domains: computer engineering (hardware/software, multimedia, electro-medical, etc.), wireless communications & digital signal processing (mobile communications, audio/image signal processing etc.) RF/Microwave engineering & electro-optics (RF circuits, antenna, microwave IC design, optical communication, etc.), and integrated circuits & systems (analog/digital IC design, embedded system, design automation, etc).


Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering

The department commits itself to teaching excellence. Many of CSIE faculty members received Distinguished Teaching Awards honored by the University. Students can obtain extensive training with a rigorous curriculum covering three main domains: software and hardware systems, computing languages, and mathematics and algorithms.

This department focuses on three research areas: multimedia systems, network systems, and software systems. Via projects, internships and scholarships, Students are provided with many research and enterprise-collaboration opportunities.


Department of Electro-Optical Engineering

Electro-Optics is an integrated study of optics, mechanics, electronics, electrical engineering, and material science. This department aims to equip students with essential knowledge and critical skills much needed in this field to meet the industrial requirements.

Our current major research and development areas are: electro-optical material and devices, optical communications, optical information (including electro-optical system design), electro-optical engineering, flat panel display, LED), and biophotonics.